Salamander Golf Society

2016 Salamander Cup & Students Match

05 Jun 2016 3:38 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)
35th Salamander Cup, Fontainebleau  

Undeterred by threats of storms, the representatives of 8 nationalities and no less than 14 different MBA promotions assembled on the wild and wonderful course of Fontainebleau Golf Club for the 35th edition of the Salamander Cup. Their temerity was rewarded by beautifully clear skies, a gentle breeze, and a uniquely contrasted golfing experience.

The winner was once again the course, as no one returned more net Stableford points than the quantity suggested by the handicap, despite the extra ones accorded by the slope. The critical level of 36 was achieved by only one player, Caroline Edwards, with Marcus Keane, from the 2006 promotion celebrating his 10 years after came near with 35. James Andrews topped the gross scores on 20 points, closely followed by James Stewart with 19. The British presence made itself felt be wresting back the Nations’ Cup from the more numerous French, and the Promotions’ Cup going to the 2066’s pipping the 1977’s.  Rich Robinson excelled in both power and precision by  winning both the longest drive and the closest to the pin ; however, the outstanding feat of the day must go to Michael Ullmann, shooting an eagle on the tricky 5th, where impenetrable rough awaits the wayward drive, gaping bunkers the topped approach, and a cunningly curving green diverts the straightest of puts.

To cap a perfect day, the President, M. Jean-Paul Panié, and Director, M. Christian Majcher, presented the prizes, generously donated by Lanson and Channel, while lengthening shadows heightening the contrast between the shades of green as the champagne was sipped

Students’ Match, Augerville La Rivière

Rain had become a virtual certainty for Augerville on the Saturday, but as the intrepid students and anciens matches set off at 8h30, it had still not arrived. There was, as the morning progressed, a shower to make a brief appearance, but which did nothing to dampen the spirits, and the match finished in glorious sunshine. The new disposition of Augerville means that we no longer lunch on the terrace overlooking the Essone & the 18th hole, but the skewed beef is just as good, and in addition, we had a starter’s (geddit?) buffet. Countin,g the results was a nail biting affair, with first the students, then the anciens in the lead, the suspense maintained by the fact that a search party had to be sent out to  bring back the final pair. The anciens finally prevailed, maintaining their impressive lead in the series, despite the efforts of Captain Miguel Alves.

Just in case the Students had insufficient reading matter, Gilles Bouché, longstanding member at Augerville; who also strengthened the anciens team, generously brought along a collection of lavishly illustrated books as prizes.

 Salamander Cup Results 


Coupe des Promotions of the IAA  -             1. 2006 60 pts (Marcus Keane & Jonathon Taylor

2. 1977 60 pts (James Stewart & J-F Labbé)


Coupe des Nations           -                              1. GB 66 pts   (James Stewart & Tim Morris)   

2. France 61 pts (Benjamin Revillon & Ho-Il Bae)    


Ladies                   Gross : Caroline Edwards                Net Bernadette Mauerhofer

Men                       Net : Marcus Keane                           Gross : James Andrews 

Longest drive                     Rich Robinson

Closest to the pin              Rich Robinson   

Students Match

Result Professors
Handicaps Students
Lost 2 up Richard Robinson 9 12  William Jones 
  Gunther Mauerhofer 15 9 Parikshit Kumar  
Won 3&2 James Stewart 15 18 Miguel Alves 
  Gilles  Bouché 16 30 Arvind Chandrasekaran
Won 6&5 Avijit Das 17 26 Karan Kunjur 
  Mihir Jayaraman 20 28 Abhijeet Mohanty
Lost 8&7 Luigi Mencarelli 28 30 LiLin Yonekura 
  Jean-Luc Le Garrec 28 30 Nikhil Khosla 
Won 2&1 Ian Edwards 26 23 Peter Skelton
  Caroline Edwards 26 28 Bernadette

Salamander Cup

Prénom Surname H'cap Nat. Promo
Marcus Keane 18 GB 2006 35
James Stewart 14 GB 1977 33
Avijit Das 17 GB 2003 33
Tim Morris 18 GB
Benjamin Revillon 31 F 2004 32
Mihir Jayaraman 20 I 2010 31
David Weinstein 16 I
Ho-il Bae 28 F
James Andrews 9 GB 2012 29
Jean-François Labbé 17 F 1977 28
Michael Ullmann 18 GB 1978 27
Peter Skelton 23 GB 1973 27
Willem J Prinselaar 10 B 1971 26
Simon Fowles 12 GB 2011 26
Torquil McAlpine 12 GB 1988 26
Hervé Allaire 13 F
Bernard Montenay 23 F 1969 26
Ian Edwards 26 GB 1991 26
Richard Robinson 9 B
Olivier de Beausacq 12 F 1977 25
Pierre Naudin 15 F 1995 25
Jacques  Demol 17 B
Jonathan Taylor 20 GB 2006 25
Jean Cailliau 15 F 1988 23
Pierre Herrbach 17 F
Frédéric Guyomard 24 F 1991 23
Gunther Mauerhofer 16 A 1963 18
Patrick Poggia 25 F
Maurice Langlois 19 F
Luigi Mencarelli 28 I 1978 13

Caroline Edwards 28

Bernadette Mauerhofer 30



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software